

Canadian Tenpin Federation, Inc. Fédération Canadienne des Dix-Zuilles, Inc.

February 2007

THUNDER BAY BOWLERS NAMED AS 21st AND 22nd MEMBERS OF CANADIAN TENPIN FEDERATION HALL OF FAME



Anne Saasto and Brian McLean of Thunder Bay, Ontario have been named the 21st and 22nd members of the Canadian Tenpin Federation's Hall of Fame. Saasto will be honoured in the Athletes category and McLean is named in the Builders category.

Saasto's induction will take place at the Opening Ceremonies of the National Championships. The ceremony will be held at the Radisson Hotel, Lavalle, Quebec on May 17, 2007. McLean will be honoured at the Opening Ceremonies of the National Youth Championships which will take place at Gateway Entertainment Centre, Edmonton, Alberta May 31st, 2007.

A three time national team member, Saas to led team mates Catharine Willis and Jane Amlinger-Vetero to Canada's first gold medal at the world level. Her 1235 score was high for the trios team at the 1991 World Championships in Singapore. Saas to also won a gold medal in the team event at the 1995 Pan American Games in Argentina. Anne had back to back trips to the AMF Bowling World Cups, representing Canada in 1991 in Beijing, China and 1992 in Le Mans, France. She also placed 6th at the WIBC Queen's at Lansing, Michigan in 1991. It was the highest finish by a Canadian at the prestigious event. Saasto was inducted into the Northwestern Ontario Sports Hall of Fame & Museum in September 2006.

McLean's is a long-time leader at the local, provincial and national level. He began organizing youth leagues in Thunder Bay in 1978 and was one of initial organizers of the CTF National Youth Championships in 1983. McLean became National Chair of the Youth Championships in 1995 and served as Youth Director on the CTF board until 2004 when CTF became a full membership organization. He has been president of the Thunder Bay association since the 1969 and received several local honours: Thunder Bay Coach of the Year in 1979 and Citizen of Exceptional Achievement in Sports in 1982. McLean was one of 100 top volunteer recognized by the Canadian Government in 1976.

Saasto will be the twelfth named in the Athletes category and McLean will be the ninth in the Builders. The following are the current members of the CTF Hall of Fame. **Athletes:** Cathy Townsend, Joanne Walker-Keefe, Ron Sarroino (deceased), Montreal, PQ, Jane Vetero, Kitchener-Waterloo, On., Fran Sanderson, Toronto, On, Lorna Pollock, Victoria, BC, Jean Gordon, Burnaby, BC, Frank Boehm, Regina, Sk, Bill Rowe, Mississauga, Ontario, Catharine Willis, Mississauga, Ontario and Craig Woodhouse, St. Catharines, Ontario. **Builders;** Joan Esary, North Vancouver, BC, John Trager, Winnipeg, Mb, Ray Mitchell, White Rock, BC, Dorothy Nelson, Calgary, Ab., Harry Beatty (deceased), Barrie, On., Hazel McLeary, Victoria, BC, Joyce Woolgar, Norval, On. and Adrianne Bride, Winnipeg, Manitoba **Veteran:** Lil Hilton, Edmonton, Ab.

For further information please contact: Hazel McLeary, Publications Co-ordinator Canadian Tenpin Federation E-mail: hmcleary@telus.net